Awards guide · Ontario, Quebec & Atlantic Canada

Prix Nobilis (Québec City) Photo Guide: Image Rules, Deadlines and How to Enter

For entrants planning the photography for Prix Nobilis. Checked against APCHQ – Région de Québec’s published rules on November 1, 2026.

The Prix Nobilis reward residential and commercial projects built by member contractors of APCHQ – Région de Québec on that association’s territory. The 2027 call is not published; in 2026 entries ran from February 16 to March 16, 2026 on the website, while the March 2026 rules give March 20, 23:59. The jury judges blind, so photos must not name the company, architect, designer or client; each photo must be 1–3 MB, and renderings are not accepted.

At a glance

Prix Nobilis (Québec City)
OrganiserAPCHQ – Région de Québec
Who can enterMember companies of APCHQ – Région de Québec with a head office or place of business on its territory, holding the right Régie du bâtiment licence and accredited with the Garantie de construction résidentielle (GCR). The contractor’s work must be at least 80% of the project value.
Eligible projectsCompleted between January 1 and December 31, 2025 for the 2026 edition (the calendar year before the entry period), on the APCHQ – Région de Québec territory. Up to 5 projects per entrant and one per sub-category (two per sub-category in Commercial building).
Entry platformapp.prixnobilis.com (online account)
Fee2026: first project free; $175 + taxes for each project from the second. Refunded if a category is closed, a project is rejected as incomplete or the awards are cancelled.
Next deadline2027 call not published as of November 1, 2026. 2026: March 16, 2026, 23:59 on the website; Friday, March 20, 2026, 23:59 in the March 2026 rules.

Source: Prix Nobilis : Inscription, Règlement Prix Nobilis 2026 (mise à jour – mars 2026).

Key dates

Date
Entry period (2026 edition)February 16 – March 16, 2026, 23:59 (website)
Deadline in the rules (2026 edition)Friday, March 20, 2026, 23:59
Pre-selection announced (2026)April 15, 2026
Jury site visits (2026)May 4–15, 2026
Finalists revealed (2026)June 25, 2026
Gala (2026)September 17, 2026
Entry period (2027 edition)Not published as of November 1, 2026

Photo requirements

Rule
Size and resolutionEach photo must be at least 1 MB and at most 3 MB. The rules ask for professional-quality images at the required dimensions but publish no pixel size.
File formatPlans must be PDF. The photo format is not stated in the public rules.
How manyNot stated in the public rules or on the website.
Staging, renderings and AIPerspectives (renderings) are not accepted. No rule on virtual staging or AI-generated images is published.
Logos, names and peoplePhotos and plans must not mention the company, architect, designer or client, because the jury judges blind. The project description must not name them either.
Credit and permissionsImages must be rights-free. The entrant must get the client’s permission before entering, and the client accepts that photos and videos of the project may be taken and broadcast. The project address and owner’s name are not published by the organisers.

Categories

Six parent categories, each split into price or size sub-categories that are reviewed every year: New house (single-family, semi-detached or row; eight price bands in 2026), Multifamily building, Kitchen, Interior renovation, Major renovation and Commercial building.

How to enter

  1. Check membership, the Régie du bâtiment licence, GCR accreditation, and that the project was completed in the previous calendar year on the territory.
  2. Ask the client’s permission and tell them the jury will visit if the project is pre-selected.
  3. Read the rules and the Terms and conditions, then create an account on app.prixnobilis.com.
  4. Submit the complete file: an anonymous description, PDF plans and 1–3 MB photos with no names.
  5. Pay for the second and later projects before the deadline.
  6. If pre-selected, make the project available for the jury visit during the weeks set by APCHQ.

How entries are judged

Planning the photography

Not in the published rules

As of November 1, 2026 the organiser’s public documents do not state:

Check the entry platform or ask the organiser before the shoot.

Using this as a photo brief

I photograph architecture and interiors in British Columbia, so for a project outside BC this page works best as a brief for a local architectural photographer. Send them the photo rules above, the categories you plan to enter and the deadline, and ask for:

The awards photo calendar lists the other programmes the same photos can be re-exported for.

Frequently asked questions

What are the photo requirements for the Prix Nobilis?

Prix Nobilis photos must be good quality, between 1 MB and 3 MB each, rights-free, and free of any mention of the company, architect, designer or client. Renderings (perspectives) are not accepted, and the number of photos is not stated in the public rules.

When is the Prix Nobilis deadline?

The 2027 Prix Nobilis entry period had not been published as of November 1, 2026. In 2026 the website gave February 16 to March 16, 2026, 23:59, while the March 2026 rules gave Friday, March 20, 2026, 23:59.

Is Prix Nobilis judging anonymous?

Yes. The Prix Nobilis jury evaluates entries blind, so photos, plans and descriptions must not name the company, architect, designer or client. Pre-selected projects are then visited in person by the jury.

How much does it cost to enter the Prix Nobilis?

For the 2026 Prix Nobilis, the first project was free and each project from the second cost $175 plus taxes. Each entrant can submit up to five projects.

This guide summarises APCHQ – Région de Québec’s published rules and is not affiliated with APCHQ – Région de Québec. The official documents take precedence.

Questions about awards photography?

Book an awards shoot [email protected]