Awards guide · Ontario, Quebec & Atlantic Canada

GOHBA Housing Design Awards Photo Guide: Image Rules, Deadlines and How to Enter

For entrants planning the photography for GOHBA Housing Design Awards. Checked against Greater Ottawa Home Builders’ Association (GOHBA)’s published rules on November 1, 2026.

The GOHBA Housing Design Awards recognise new homes, renovations, kitchens, bathrooms and builders among GOHBA members, for projects within 150 km of Parliament Hill. The 44th-edition (2027) call is not published yet; the 2026 deadline was 11:59 PM, July 24, 2026, and the 43rd gala is on November 7, 2026. Judging is anonymous: photos must show no company names, logos, people, pets, text or virtual staging, and the rule extends to file names.

At a glance

GOHBA Housing Design Awards
OrganiserGreater Ottawa Home Builders’ Association (GOHBA)
Who can enterGOHBA members in good standing, with all invoices paid by July 1, 2026, and continuous membership from project start to completion. Up to three co-submitters per project; each must join GOHBA before May 1, 2026 with at least a one-year membership.
Eligible projectsCompleted between April 1, 2023 and July 1, 2026, and at least 90% complete excluding landscaping (2026 awards). Projects must be within 150 km of Parliament Hill on the Ontario side; Gatineau, other Quebec projects and anything further away go in ‘Anywhere in the World’.
Entry platformgohbahousing.awardify.io (member account required)
Fee$175 + HST per submission, plus $175 + HST per co-submitter, paid in full at submission. Finalists pay a further $175 + HST for the main submitter and each co-submitter, due by October 1, 2026.
Next deadline44th-edition (2027) deadline not published as of November 1, 2026. 2026: 11:59 PM, Friday, July 24, 2026, with no extensions.

Source: Housing Design Awards: How to Enter, Housing Design Awards: Eligibility.

Key dates

Date
Deadline (2026 awards)11:59 PM, Friday, July 24, 2026 (time zone not stated); no extensions
Finalists announced (2026 awards)September 9, 2026
People’s Choice voting (2026 awards)September 9 – October 2, 2026
Finalist fees due (2026 awards)October 1, 2026
43rd Housing Design Awards GalaSaturday, November 7, 2026, Rogers Centre Ottawa (cocktails 5:00 PM, awards 6:15 PM)
Deadline (2027 awards)Not published as of November 1, 2026

Photo requirements

Rule
Size and resolution300 dpi; maximum 10 MB per photo. Photos may be resized for judges. No minimum pixel size is published.
File formatNot stated for photos. Site plans and floor plans are uploaded as PDF.
How manyEvery category starts with 1 main project image. Then, by category: production and custom homes and apartment buildings 1–2 exterior (or renderings) plus 5–6 interior; renovations 5–10 interior and exterior plus 1–5 before; production kitchens 6–10; custom kitchens 5–8; production bathroom 5–10; custom bathrooms 5–8; powder room 2–6; details, rooms, outdoor and Anywhere in the World 5–10; Innovation awards 1–2 exterior, 1–2 mechanical room and 4–6 interior.
Required shotsOne ‘main’ image, labelled as such, which GOHBA uses for all awards and media purposes. Innovation award entries also need 1–2 photos of the mechanical room.
Before and afterAll renovation categories need at least one ‘before’ photo (up to 5). GOHBA strongly recommends before and after photographs.
Staging, renderings and AIVirtual staging is not allowed. The exterior slots in home and building categories accept renderings, and 3D views and colour renderings are permitted on drawings. No AI rule is published.
Logos, names and peopleNo company names, logos, people, pets, text, signage, street addresses or any other identifying information in photos. Materials that break anonymity are ruled ineligible and removed from judging.
File namesSave photos with the project name and a number (ProjectName_01, ProjectName_02). No company, builder, architect, street or client names in file names.
Credit and permissionsBy entering, participants accept that GOHBA and its awards partners may use the materials for promotion, and that photos may be shared publicly or broadcast by GOHBA or third parties. No photographer credit is published.

Categories

48 lettered categories in seven groups, plus four Special Achievement Awards (Production Builder, Custom Builder, Renovator and Designer of the Year): A production homes and new community, B custom homes, C apartments and suites, D renovations, E kitchens and bathrooms, F details, rooms, outdoor spaces and Anywhere in the World, G Innovation awards. Photo-heavy ones include Custom Home, Renovation, Custom Kitchen and Exterior Living Space.

How to enter

  1. Confirm that the main submitter and every co-submitter are active GOHBA members in good standing.
  2. Create a member account or log in at gohbahousing.awardify.io.
  3. Choose a category and give the project a name with no company, street address, file number or client details.
  4. Write the description (400 words maximum, plus a condensed version for the gala monitors) and upload site and floor plans as PDF with dimensions and key components labelled.
  5. Upload the main image and the category photos, all free of identifying information.
  6. Pay all main and co-submitter fees and click SUBMIT on each entry before 11:59 PM on the deadline.

How entries are judged

Planning the photography

Not in the published rules

As of November 1, 2026 the organiser’s public documents do not state:

Check the entry platform or ask the organiser before the shoot.

Using this as a photo brief

I photograph architecture and interiors in British Columbia, so for a project outside BC this page works best as a brief for a local architectural photographer. Send them the photo rules above, the categories you plan to enter and the deadline, and ask for:

The awards photo calendar lists the other programmes the same photos can be re-exported for.

Frequently asked questions

What are the photo requirements for the GOHBA Housing Design Awards?

GOHBA Housing Design Awards photos should be 300 dpi and no more than 10 MB each. Every entry starts with one main image plus category sets such as 1–2 exterior and 5–6 interior views, and no photo may show company names, logos, people, pets, text or virtual staging.

When is the GOHBA Housing Design Awards deadline?

The 2027 GOHBA Housing Design Awards deadline had not been published as of November 1, 2026. The 2026 deadline was 11:59 PM on Friday, July 24, 2026, with no extensions, and the 43rd gala is on November 7, 2026.

Can photos for the GOHBA Housing Design Awards show people or logos?

No. GOHBA Housing Design Awards photos must not include company names, logos, people, pets, text, virtual staging or any identifying information, and that includes the file name. Entries that break anonymity are removed from judging.

Do GOHBA renovation entries need before photos?

Yes. Every GOHBA Housing Design Awards renovation category requires at least one ‘before’ photo, with up to 5 allowed, alongside 5–10 photos of the finished work.

This guide summarises Greater Ottawa Home Builders’ Association (GOHBA)’s published rules and is not affiliated with Greater Ottawa Home Builders’ Association (GOHBA). The official documents take precedence.

Questions about awards photography?

Book an awards shoot [email protected]